Board of Trustees

Flint Hill’s Board of Trustees is comprised of a maximum of 25 dedicated volunteers, including elected members and two voting ex officio members: the headmaster and the president of the Parents’ Association. Desired members include alumni, current parents, parents of alumni, and individuals from the broader community who bring particular expertise and leadership.

The length of a term is three years and elected Trustees can serve no more than three consecutive terms or nine successive years.

The Board of Trustees’ primary responsibility is to be guardians of the School’s mission. The Board adopts the School’s mission, vision and strategic goals and then establishes policies that reinforce them. In addition, the Board accepts accountability for the School’s financial stability and is responsible for hiring and evaluating the headmaster. The Board works in tandem with the headmaster and other School administrators to ensure the overall health of the School.

Pia Trigiani

Attorney at Law, Principal, Mercer Trigiani

Mike Corkery

Parent ’16, ’18
Deltek, President and CEO

Gary Rappaport

Parent ’09, ’17
The Rappaport Companies, CEO

John Thomas

Headmaster of Flint Hill School

Omar Balkissoon

P '28, '29, '30
Geospark Analytics, Founder and CEO

Alex Bettius ’03

Mill Creek Residential
Vice President, Finance

Taylor Chess

Parent ’13, ’14, ’18, ’21
Peterson Companies, President, Development

Ed Dean

Parent ’15, ’19, ’27
Intercoastal Mortgage, LLC, Chairman & CEO

Linnie Haynesworth

Parent ’17
Northrop Grumman, Retired A&D Executive

Miki Toliver King

Parent '24, '27
Genius, President

Lisa Lisker

Parent ’15, ’16
Huckaby Davis Lisker, Inc., President

Richard Moxley

Parent ’16, ’18, ’21
Razor’s Edge Ventures, Managing Partner

Terry Nelson

Parent ’12, ’19, ’21
Plus Communications, Founding & Managing Partner

Terry Pao

Parent ‘23, ‘25

Prem Pillai

Parent ’17, ’19

Liza Wright Renner

Parent ’20, ’21
Lochlin Partners, Managing Director

Tim Rupli

Parent ’18, ’21, ’22, ’23
Rupli & Associates

Hugh Taylor

Parent ’16, ’18

Sibel Unsal

Parents' Association President

John Wasson

Parent ’20, ’22
ICF, President & COO

Howard-John Wesley

Parent ‘25
Alfred Street Baptist Church, Pastor

Dave Wiley

Parent:  ‘14, '16, '19
Widelity, Inc., Chairman & President

Founding Chairman Emeritus

Mr. John T. Hazel, Jr.

Trustees Emeriti

Sister Martha Carpenter, O.S.F.

St. Peter Indian Mission School, Principal

Ed Carr

Parent ’93
CarrHomes, Inc., President, Retired

Skip Coston

Grandparent ’07, ’20
Stonemark Corporation, President

John Dowd

Parent ’90, ’92, ’96
Grandparent ’12
Akin, Gump, Strauss, Hauer & Feld, LLP, Partner

Johanna Fitzpatrick

Parent ’86, ’95
Court of Appeals of the Commonwealth of Virginia, Chief Judge, Retired

Rick Hendrix

P ’13, ’16, ’20, ’20
Crestview, Operating Executive

Paul Kincheloe

Parent ’08
Kincheloe & Schneiderman, Partner

Mike McCarey

Parent ’89
Bureau of Consumer Protection, Associate Director, Retired

Bill Melton

Parent ’00, ’09
GIV Venture Partners GP, LLC, Manager

Norris Mitchell

Mitchell and Gardner Properties, Co-Owner & President

Pattern Right

All committees appointed by the Board of Trustees follow the National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS) “Principles of Good Practice.”

The Standing Committees are the Audit Committee, Committee on Trustees, Development Committee, Executive Committee, Finance Committee and Investment Committee. Two other committees have been formed to assist the Board in the execution of its responsibilities. They are the Building Committee and the Diversity Committee.

The Audit Committee recommends the independent auditor for Board approval and works with the auditor to establish the scope of the audit. This committee has oversight over the School’s major business and operational risks to assure the Board that the risks are identified and managed appropriately.


The Committee on Trustees coordinates the identification, cultivation, recruitment and orientation of new trustees; re-nominates sitting trustees; nominates officers; and facilitates the annual Board and headmaster assessment.

The Development Committee coordinates the School’s fundraising activities, advises the Board on the financial goals of the annual campaign and on any capital or endowment campaign.


The Executive Committee consists of the chair, vice chair and the chairs of the Finance Committee, Committee on Trustees, Chair of the Development Committee, the secretary of the Corporation and up to one additional member of the Board of Trustees.

This committee coordinates the work of the Board with the Board Chair; serves as a sounding board for the headmaster; acts in place of the Board between Board meetings in the manner prescribed by the bylaws and as expressly delegated by the Board, and reports any actions to the Board in a timely fashion.

Formed in 2017, the Diversity Committee’s purpose is to support the Board’s and administration’s efforts regarding diversity and inclusion and to ensure that our programs around these topics and the overall culture of the School are executed in line with the School’s vision. The formation of this committee underscores our commitment to providing a safe, welcoming, and supportive environment for all students.

The Finance Committee develops the long-range financial plan and yearly operational budget, including setting tuition levels for Board approval and monitors the implementation of the budget.


The Investment Committee develops and recommends to the Board for its approval policies that delineate how the School will invest its endowment and what amount of return on investment the School will use in its yearly operating budget; monitors the investment portfolio’s return, including setting investment objectives and meeting with the professional adviser.

Two other committees have been formed to assist the Board in the executive of its responsibilities. They are the Building Committee and the Diversity Committee